Days II-V: Part 1 – Forced Assimilation | Marketing Majors

“You guys all knew this was coming. Why don’t we go around and tell us a little about yourself.”

Moan ~ groan ~ whimper

“Hi my name is a, marketing major – data analytics concentration.”

“Hi my name is b, marketing major – PR and advertising concentration.”

“Hi my name is c, Scientific Analysis and Biology major (thank god, a fellow non-marketing major) ….marketing minor.” Dammit.

And there I was – the philosophy major-  you now,  just there, absorbing it all, because well, that’s all I could do.

Then, it was my turn.

“Hey guys, my name is Pete” Hi Pete “and I’m a philosophy major with a triple minor in history, english, and poly sci.”

Murmur murmur I didn’t know you could do that murmurmur

When I last left you guys, I was just getting introduced to marketing. Where do I find myself now? Still getting introduced to marketing. See how it all works out?

Then BOOM, I thrust into the thick of it – someone in front of me was speaking about something called a lunascape(?!) and its relevance to data and chocolate.

My eyelids were trying to stick together the longer I sat, but I eagerly wanted to absorb the content, so naturally, I widened the range of my listening and merely rested my eyes.

“Pete, get up and and grab a snack,” said a voice nearby, and obligingly, I took the advice.

Free food is never a negative, so as nondescript as I could, I blinked as hard as I could a few times, then pushed my chair out and got up. The speaker looked at me, and sheepishly, I returned the look as if to say, its not you its me – which in all honesty, it was.

Anyway, I scrounged around for some sweets, and headed back.

“…And there we go guys, give up up for Professor Kornfield!”

Clapclapclapclap

Another presentation.

Clapclapclap

Another presentation.

Clapclapclap

But you know, I’ve realized something about marketing majors and marketers through the presentations.

They aren’t hoity toity – suit wearing, tie fixing, snooty attitude individuals- or isolationist (looking at you finance majors). They’re more “yeah, dude, programmatics and content curation are driving the future of marketing,” “hey, that sounds like a great idea,” “that sounds like a good collaborative effort.”

They are a lot more likely to share their ideas and their thoughts without dipping into a fountain of condescension.

Am I saying that all other business majors don’t do that, no. I’m just saying that based off of my current observations, marketing majors are just a bit more… open.

The beginning of the conference put on by Marketing EDGE was quite enlightening. I learned from the brightest people already entrenched in the industry. I conversed with marketing minded peers. And I learned more about a field which I had never seen myself ever exploring.

It was pretty cool, honestly, and it was like I was living a triple life. I was Pete the intern (at the office), Pete the intern (among the attendees), and I was Pete the intern (to my parents.) Now, Pete the intern will report back on more of what happened a different day.

For the happenings of the days following, stay tuned!

Next edition to be released: 6/27.

Leave a comment